Unlikly couples part seven 

Previusly on unlikly couple.

Craig wallice,a young pastor on a fluke visited a Methodist church. He met a young pastor. They seemed to hit it off. 

They had a series of up and down. She wanted a break for a while. She ended up visiting him at his parent’s church. 

Craig was tired but he had a good weekend. He thought that the weekend had gone really well. He wanted his parents and his church to have a good weekend.  It seemed that that happened.   

He went to bed that night. He had slept in his old bed room. It did not look like it did when he lived there. He was exhausted.  He fell asleep verry easily. He was out till morning. 

The next day he had coffe. He had breakfast with his family. “We posted a bunch of pictures on the church’s face book page. ” his mom said. She showed him a few.  He saw a group picture of church members. There was one of one of the extended wallice family.  There was a picture of the family with becky in the picture. There was a picture of craig and Becky.  

“Sadie! Are you in rush to get home? I was wondering if we could stop and see bec. ” he sugested. “No i am not in a rush to get home. ” she said.  “I would like to take you and her out for dinner. ” he said. “Yea. Thats fine. ” she said.

After breakfast, Craig got ready to leave his childhood home. Sadie packed up as well. They packed up the car then visited a bit. 

“It was good to have the whole family under one ruff again. ” his dad said.”it was good to be back. ” craig said. “Good things are happening at your church as well. I praise the lord for that. ” his dad said.  “Thanks dad. That meens a lot. ” craig told him. He hugged his dad.

He hugged his mom. “I realy missed you. ” his mom said. “I missed you mom. ” he said .he said goodby to his brothers and sisters as well. Then they headed out.  They got in the car and drove off. 

They arived at Becky’s home. The car drove in. She watched them drive in. She came out of the house. 

“Hi there!” becky said. He hugged her.  “I was hoping i could take you and sadie out for lunch. ” he suggested.  “Yes. That would be great. ” she said. “Awsome.” he responded. 

She got ready to leave. They got into the car. “I thought the church celebration went really well.” becky said.  “It really did. My parents realy seemed to enjoy it. ” he said. “It seems like a good church. ” becky said. “It is. It has grown from what it was when it first started. At first it was our family and one other family and a couple kids. ” sadie said. “So did you model your church after your dads?” becky asked.

“In many ways yes. I used the church as a guide. I tried to put my own touches on the church i started.  I did modify a few things. ” he said. 

“The church i pastor has been around for a long time. My predecessor was kind of old fashioned.  I had to slowly change things. I have kept it mostly the same as it was under pastor frank.” she said 

They parked and went inside.  They sat down. “So are you the seccond oldest?” becky asked sadie. “Yes. They waited a while before having a seccond kid. ” sadie said.

“I kinda wore my parents out. ” craig said.” i was a much calmer babby. “Sadie said. “She was a prety easy baby.  Baby three merissa. She was very colicky. ” he said. “Do you have siblings?” sadie asked. 

“Yes i have one older brother and three sisters. “She answered. “Do you get to see them much?”sadie asked. “Not too much.  We are not too close. “She said. “Im sory to hear that. “He said.”i was a bit of a problem child i gues. ” she said. “It seams like you have moved pass that. “Sadie said. “I have definently tried to. Old wounds take a long time to heel.”she said. 

“So are you two close?”she asked. “I think i am his favorate!”sadie said. “We are very close. I dont have a favorate sibling. Mayby gracie. “He said. “Gracie is a year old. She does not count. ” sadie said. They laughed. Aftter a time they headed back to the car. They drove back to her house.

They got out for a minute. “It was so good to meet you sadie.”becky said. “Same hear. I am glad we got to talk. ” sadie said. “We have to doa girls day out some time. I would love to talk to you one on one. “Becky suggested. “You dont want me around? “He asked. “It would be fun to get to get know eachother without you. Lord wiling you will be my sister in law some day. ” becky said.  “I will give you my number. Thats sounds like fun. I look froward to getting to know you. ” sadie said. 

Sadie said her goodbyes to becky. She got in the car. She figured that they wanted a few minutes to themselves.  “I am so glad you came yesterday. That was a great surprise! ” he told her.”i wanted to see you. I love being with you..i was afraid once we started talking. About what we are,that we would stop enjoying eachother.  So far so good. “She said. 

“I love you. Iove your silyness. Your bubbly personality. Everything.  Your amazing reverend becky. ” he said. He hugged her. She held on to him. “I love you. Your qirks and all. Pastor Wallace ” she said. He laughed. 

He headed to the drivers seat. He waved as he pulled out of her driveway. He headed out.

“So what do you think of her?”he asked.”i like her. She seems nice”sadie said. ” some times i think i am out of my mind to even think about such a relationship.  We are so different. Yet we mesh together so well.”he said. 

“You do mesh together well. Your similar in manny ways. It is easier to spot your diffetences. Your more simar then you think.  “Sadie said. “I could see that. ” he said

“So do we think we can work out our differences.  Do you think we can make this work?” he asked. “To be honest i think you two will chose to. I think you will find a way.  I dont think either of you could really live with the alternative. “She said. 

“I am trying to be carefull. I know that i can’t trust my heart. I know. The fact that she is a minister is problematic.  I know we have a lot to work out. A lot of it seems insurmountable.  “He said. 

“You have grown up fast. You saw the things in your life that you need to improve on and you have made those changes with the lords help. Mayby this is not a time to run away. You two can work on this.  With every relationship the thought is to wall away at the first sign of trouble. Mayby this is not the time for that.  You may have to down the road. I realy beleve that as i said you will do whatever it takes to make it work. “She said. 

“This is so unlike me. ” he said. “Mayby. Your ready for a relationship.  You were doing the work of the lord.you were not looking.  She showed up well you showed up. You two are cute together. ” she told her. 

“You realy think so?” he asked. “I do. You two have something . thats clear. You two mesh.you conpliment each other. You have that thing. That spark. “She said.

“Its weird i did not feel lonley. I waa fulfilled.  I did not feel a void. I felr fine. I was content. Now that i have met her i can’t go back. I do feel that void. ” he said.

She smirked.  “You were doing what you were suposed to be doing. You were abounding in the work of the lord. Remember dad always says wait on the lord. His timing is always best. Mayby this is that time. ” she said. 

“Perhaps it is. I had not thought of it that way. ” he told her. “I know you would find someone eventually. “She said. 

He dropped her up.they said there goodbyes. Then he headed home. When he got home he called becky. “Hi hunnie! I made it back.” he said. That was the first time he ever called her hunnie. “Good. How was the trip back?” she asked. “It went good. No incidence. No wild life. ” he said. 

“I had a realy good weekend with you. I love spending time with you. “She told him. “I love spending time with you bec. I was so glad that you came. I am so glad your in my life. “He said.

“No one has ever said that to me before.  I burn a bot of bridges. I am not that lovable. “She said.  “I meen it bec. Your very important to me. ” he said “your important to me too. ” she told him. 

He took a nap for a while. He got up. He did some church work.  He called the chairman of deacon bored. He worked on his surmon. He checked his facebook. He saw a relationship request from becky. He confirmed. A notification came up. Craig wallice and rebecca granger are in a relationship.  

His mom and sisters had tagged them in several pics. He saw a pic of him and her at thr church. There were several of them at the felowship hall. There were some of him with his family.  Sadie took some of them at bec’s place. 

He saw that becky had become face book friends with sadie,his mom and his sisters merissa and alesha. She was becoming more a part of his world.  He stared at the pics. They looked like a husband and wife. They had not realy talked about mariege. It had come up but not a firm plan. 

How would it work? Could it. Would they both continue pastoring. Where would they live. If one had to give up pastoring.  Who would it be? Could she pastor a church near him. What would his church feel about his wife being a pastor of a mainline denomination church? So manny questions.  So few answers. 

There was time to figure all that out. He was surprised that he was thinking about it. That was interesting to him. She thought about it as well. 

End of part seven.

Next up becky and craig ponder there futute together.  They learn more about each other. 

Leave a Reply

