Unlikly couples part 7

Becky came up the next weekend.  They had a picnic. He sat up a blanket in the park. They eat.

“Ok i want to play a get to know you game.  ” becky said. “Ok!” he said. “I am going to ask you questions.  I have to answer them as well. I wrote a bunch down. ” she said.  “Ok. Schoot!” he said. 

“Do you have any tatoos?” she asked.”no!  You?” he asked. “I have one.  It is a smal one.  It is on my shoulder. ” she said. “Let me guess, the united Methodist syimbol with open door open heart thing.” he said.”yes. I know that duturonomy does not allow tatoos. ” she said. “I was not going to bring that up. ” he said.  They laughed. 

“It is not repeated in the new testament.  ” she said. “I am aware of that. ” he said. ” i should not get defensive. ” she said. “No you should not. I am very easy going well for a fundimentulist. What is it you call me a fundy?” he asked.  

“Yes. Moving on. Have you ever kissed anyone?” she asked. “A little girl gave me a kiss on the cheak when i was 8. It was quite the scandle in the church. We all quite a lecture from the pastor. Other then that and family no. ” he said. 

“Well other then family of course. ” she said.”unless you live in alabama. “He said. “I can’t believe you went there! I cant take you anywhere can i?” she asked.  “No! Not without a buzzer or something! ” he said. She shock her head. 

“So! Do i have to beat this girl up?” she asked.  “No she is maried. She and her husband are missionaries to zambia. ” he said. “Ok! Just checking.” she said. 

“So your answer?” he asked. “I had a boyfriend in college.  We did kiss. I regret it now.  I have grown in maturity sense then. ” she said. ” was he a ministerial student?” he asked. “Yes he was. No he was not fithty. “She said. “So he was forty five?” he asked. She nabbed him. “No!” she said. 

“Ok. Next question? ” he said.  ” ever been to a foregn country?” she asked. “Yes i have.  I have been to canada,mexico,Haiti, brazile france and germany. “He said. “Missons trips?”she asked. “Hatie,mexixo and brazile was. I visited some missionary friends in eroupe but it was not technically a missionary trip per say. Canada was for missons conferences and to visit churches and friends. Have you visited foregn countries?”he asked.

“I visited canada, i have been to hobderas on a misons trip. I went to Guatemala and elsalvidor, those were misons trips.  I back packed though eroupe. I went to china as a tourest. I have been to Cuba. “She said. “I won’t ask. “He said. “Wise.”she said.they laughed. 

“Back pack tgough Europe.  People still do that? “He asked. “Myself and a few friends did. It was great.  ” she said.  “Were you able to eat?”he asked. “Most of the time!”she said. “Oh! That does not sound good! ” he said. “I lost weight.”she said. 

“Have you been to any concerts?” she asked. “Unless tou count mysic nights at a nearby independent baptist church no!”he said. “I figured.  I have been to Nickelback, lady gaga and justin bieber!”she said.

“Seriously?  Bieber?” he said. “Dont judge!”she said. “Come on that is so judge worthy!”he said. “Judge not.”she said. “There is difference between judging and discerning. I am discerning that is exceedingly silly on your part!” he remarked. 

“do you own a gun?”she asked. “schot gun. i am a hunter. “he said. “i dont own a gun. i dont hunt.”she said.”are you pro guntrol?” he asked. ” no but i am not a big fan of guns. i take it you love the seccond amendment?”she asked. “i do” he said.”figures!”she said.

“Have you been hospitalized for at least one night?”she asked. “Yea i had to have surgery on my leg after i fell off my bycicle as a teen. I had a favor and had to be hospitilized as a child. You?”he asked.

“I had a prety nasty virus a few years ago. I had a knee injery a few years back.” she told him.  

“Arested?” she asked. “No not so much as a speeding ticket. “He said. “You might get a drivng too slow sitation. My grandmother who is 80 years pld drives faster then you do ” she said.”what about you?” he asked. “I was arested during a protest. I spent a weekend in jail. It was a holiday weekend . evenidence proved i was peacefull and the charges were dropped. ” she said. ” thats good to hear. My future wife is not a fellon.”he said.”no im not. ” she said.

” do you smoke?” she asked. ” no.  You?” he asked. “No i dont. Spurgen smoked a pipe. ” she said. “And he beleved having a beard was a sign of sprituality. ” he said.  “Please promise you will never grow a beard?” she commented. “I am all set with beards. They are not realy my thing. ” he said. “Good!” she said. 

“Drinking? “She asked. “No i dont drink alcohol.  Do you?”he asked.” yes. I am a social drinking.  An actual social drinker. ” she said. “Oh!” he said. He got really qiet. 

“You dont aprove of drinking? ” she asked. “I am not a big fan of it.” he said.”i really dont drink that much or that often. ” she said. “Ok!” he said.

“Is this a deal breaker?” she asked.”no. Its not. We will work though it. ” he said. “Good.” she said. 

“Do you beleve in aliens?”she asked.”no i dont. You?”he asked. “No not at all. “She said. “Thats good to hear.”he said. 

“You snowmobile? ” She asked. ” yes i do. You?” she asked. “Yes i do. We wil have  to go ryding this winter?”he suggested. “Yea that would be great.”she said. ” that would be fun.” he said.

” can we ride in the same snowmobile, I can hold on to you.”she said.”oh ok. ” he said. 

“What is your biggest fear?” she asked.he breathed a bit. “I fear going though the motions.  I fear havin a form of godliness but lacking the power thereof.  I fear doing and saying the right things but losing my first love. I heard someone say the opposite of sucsess os not failure bit succeding in things that dont matter. “He said.

She could see the dispair in his eyes. She saw that this was a real fear. One that he thought about alot. 

“Promise you wont laugh about myine?”she asked. “Yea you have my word.”he said.”i fear the loss of control. I like being in control. I know that i am not always in control.the lord ia. I stil fight tooth and nail to stay on top. I know itis futile but i have trouble letting go ” she said. 

“Letting go is not weakness.  He wants us best. He looks out for our best even if we dont like it. It is not easy all the time. I know that first hand. I struggle with giving up control at times. ” he said.

“What is the answer? ” she asked. “Trust him. Trust that he wants your best. Maybe not what you beleve is best but it is best.  Trust that it is. ” he said. 

“I know that. ” she said. “Letting go is not easy but it is vital. It is worth it in the end.  ” he said. 

“So, what is a secret you have never told anyone? “She asked. “I staeted to wavor in my call to ministry. I knew that i was called to ministry. I considered going to business school. I even aply to a chriatian liberal arts school . i have the acceptance letter. I keep it in my office at home. I was reeding though first and second timouthy. I realized that when God calls someone,  it is for a reason. I never told anyone. Not even my parrents. I realized that God lets us go so far and then he stops us. He kinda says,’ok that will do it. Time to do it my way”. I am so glad i stopped and did not go in that direction. What about you?” he asked.

“When i was 17, i snunk out of the house and hung out with friends. It was horible. It was scary being out that late. I was convinced my parents were up waiting for me. I was able to sneek back in. To my knowledge my parents have no idea. I realized that i wont totaly be protected. There are times if i want to go my way i can. I was living Romans one or proverbs one that day. That was hardly my turning point but it was an importent step. It was the beggining of the long road back. ” she said. 

“Thank you for sharing that. Thank you for opening up. I feel like i know you so much now” he told her. “Thank you for sharing.  I feel the ssame  way. ” she told him. 

“Ok one more question? What is an embarrassing thing about you?” she asked. “Um.on ocasion i draw comics about zaping monstirs. It is prety blend. I dobt draw them very often. ” he said . “i want to see this. ” she said. “They are not very good. ” he said. “Stil i want to read them! You have to show them to me. ” she said. “Ok! I will. ” he said. “Good! “She said . 

“So whats yours? ” he asked. “I cant get to sleep unless i am huging my tedy bear i had as a kid!” she said. “No! Your kidding? ” he said “no im serious.  ” she said.he laughed.  “I had no idea. ” he said.

“So do you see us maried as something that probibly will happen?” she asked. “I do. I am open to the posibility that the lord could close the door.  Right now i am fairly confident that it wil happen. Is that how you feel?” he asked.

“It is. I was suprised by your wording.it was very definitive.  Certin.i had no idea you were that confident of this! “She said.

He hugged her. ” you are so special to me.i really beleve that the lord has brought us together. I dont understand it but i believe that.” he told her. 

She knew that he ment it. “I believe that too. It does not make sence. I think your right. ” she said. 

After lunch they played volly ball. They played a few rounds. Then they  decided to rest for a bit. “So did you mind answering my questiones?”she asked. “No not at all. “He said.”you opened uo quite a bit. I was suprised by your honesty. I appreciate it. I feel like i really do know more then i did. “She said.

“I feel the same way. Even though you wrote the quesrione. I senced the honesty. You risked being vanerable. I appreciate that.  ” he told her.

After a while she decided that she should head back. “I hate this part of the evening! ” she told him. “I know exactly what you mean.  I will miss you.”he said. 

He hugged her. He watched her get in the car and go. When she got home,she called him. ” hi hunnie,i made it home!”she said.”i am glad. I always worry”he said.

“Someday when i go home,i am taking you with me!”she said.”i cant wait!”he said. “I will talk to you later.goodnight. “she said. “You too.”he said. 

End of part 7

Next up sadie and becky hang out. 

Leave a Reply

